The 2020 Wales Transport Awards Winners Announced


The winners of the 2020 Wales Transport Awards were announced on Friday 9th October at a virtual awards ceremony hosted by journalist and presenter Frances Donovan.

The awards saw finalists from across all parts of Wales compete for 11 awards in a variety of different categories, ranging from Coach Operator of the Year to Transport Team of the Year.

The online event, streamed live on You Tube, included a message of thanks from the Secretary of State for Wales, Simon Hart MP and a special recognition award for the NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership – Supply Chain Logistics & Transport. This was presented to Tony Chatfield, whose interview brought attention to the work that his team had been (and still is) responsible for during this pandemic.   The event is still available to view here

With overall sponsorship by KeolisAmey Wales the awards are the only one of their kind in Wales to recognise the crucial work that transport companies do to keep business moving in Wales.

People and Engagement Director Marie Daly said:

“As a company invested in Wales, with our UK headquarters here, we at Keolis Amey were delighted to be headline sponsors for the awards.

“The Wales Transport Awards really do highlight what fantastic talent we have in the transport sector here in Wales.

“It was a huge honour to be able to present the special recognition award to the NHS team for their phenomenal work before and during the Covid-19 crisis.

“And we were delighted to win the Excellence and Innovation and Apprentice of the Year award, two areas where we at Keolis Amey pride ourselves in focusing on.

“A big thank you to all the organisers and a massive well done to all the winners and nominees.”

Other sponsors include Marsh Commercial, Petronas Lubricants International, Plant I, Propel Finance, Glenside Commercials, Stills, Business News Wales and Traveline Cymru.

Denise Lovering, Glenside Commercials and Head Judge for the Wales Transport Awards said:

“Despite the restrictions placed on events this year, the virtual awards ceremony was excellent. It was a pleasure to help highlight and the support the work done by all the transport companies in Wales.”

Liz Brookes of Grapevine Event Management said:

“Although we couldn’t get to celebrate in person with everyone I am so pleased we were still able to recognise these amazing companies who keep Wales moving, especially after such a difficult year. A huge congratulations to all the winners as well as each of the finalists who are also recognised for their hard work and the success this has delivered for them.”

The winners of the 2020 Wales Transport Awards are:

Apprentice of the Year: Joshua Lane – Transport for Wales Rail Services

Coach Operator of the Year: Cymru Coaches

Customer Care Award: Day's Rental

Excellence in Technology and Innovation Award: KeolisAmey Wales

Haulier of the Year: Alan R Jones and Sons

Large Fleet of the Year: Owens Group

Services to the Transport Industry Award: First Cymru Buses

Small Fleet of the Year: R T Williams

Transport Team of the Year: ETS Medical

Women in Transport: Jo Foxall – Traveline Cymru

Highly Commended: Shirley Martin – Cymru Coaches, Drive – Cardiff Taxi cooperative

Special Recognition Award: NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership – Supply Chain Logistics & Transport