Showcasing the Best of Welsh Business


Wales Celebrates Welsh Achievements in 2023 New Year Honours List


Secretary of State for Wales David TC Davies has congratulated this year’s recipients from Wales of New Year Honours.

The New Year Honours list recognises the accomplishments of extraordinary people from all backgrounds across the United Kingdom.

Recipients from Wales in the 2023 list include Wales captain Sophie Ingle (OBE) for her services to football, founder of retailer Net World Sports Alex Loven (MBE) for services to the economy and to the community in Wrexham and Professor Colin Riordan (CBE), President and Vice-Chancellor of Cardiff University for services to higher education.

From the world of politics, there are Knighthoods for Rhondda MP Chris Bryant and Swansea-born New Forest East MP Julian Lewis, both for political and public service.

Numerous other people from across Wales have been honoured including Bill Carne from Haverfordwest (BEM for services to sport and charity in Pembrokeshire), June Lovell from Mold (BEM for services to the NHS), Nancy Thomas from Monmouth (BEM for services to the NHS) and Major Derek Monroe from Brecon who receives an MBE for services to the Army Cadets.

The Welsh Secretary thanked all those in Wales who have been honoured for their inspirational hard work and achievements.

Secretary of State for Wales David TC Davies said:

“I am inspired by the invaluable work of the many people from across Wales who have deservedly been recognised on the New Year Honours List.

“It is fantastic to see Welsh recipients from a wide range of backgrounds being recognised. I am thrilled that their commitment to their field – whether it is community work, sport, education or health – has been commended.

“I would like to congratulate all recipients being honoured and thank them for their contribution.”