Showcasing the Best of Welsh Business

Best in Welsh Education to be Celebrated at Prestigious Awards Ceremony


17 outstanding education professionals and schools have been shortlisted in Wales’ first Professional Teaching Awards.

Launched by Education Secretary Kirsty Williams, the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru were set up to recognise the best in schools across the country and to celebrate the commitment and dedication of the teaching profession in Wales.

A panel of Wales-wide judges have selected the 17 entries for the seven categories, which include Teacher of the Year, Whole School Award for Promoting Relationships with Parents and the Community, and award for Promoting Pupil Wellbeing and Inclusion in School.

Education Secretary Kirsty Williams

The finalists are:

  • Lynsey Wangiel from Deighton Primary School in Newport
  • Adam Campion from Ysgol Bryn Elian in Colwyn Bay
  • Susan Treacy from Ysgol Dyffryn Taf in Carmarthenshire
  • Julie Fallows from Ysgol Pen Coch in Flint
  • Pen y Dre High School in Merthyr Tydfil
  • Hafod Primary in Swansea
  • Ysgol Golwg y Cwm in Ystradgynlais
  • Joy Passmore from Millbrook Primary School in Newport
  • Christian George from Parc Primary in Cwmparc
  • Sandra Johnson from Ysgol Maesglas in Flint
  • Nia Wyn Williams from Ysgol Morfa Nefyn in Gwynedd
  • Mark Thompson from St Helen’s Primary School in Swansea
  • Eithne Hughes from Ysgol Bryn Elian in Colwyn Bay
  • Susan Quirk from Ysgol Glan y Môr in Burry Port
  • Bethan Baglow from Olchfa School in Swansea
  • Lindsey Owen from Rhyl High School
  • Brian Crossland from Ysgol Bryn Elian in Colwyn Bay

Finalists will now attend a prestigious awards ceremony held at City Hall on Sunday 7 May where the winners will be announced.

Kirsty Williams said:

“We have been hugely encouraged by the high calibre of entries that we have received for the awards.

“These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate those teachers and educational professionals who go the extra mile to make a difference to their pupils and schools.

“All shortlisted entries should be very proud of themselves as they are the ideal role models for pupils. I wish everyone the best of luck for the awards and hope everyone enjoys the ceremony.”

Winners will be presented with a ‘Griff’ in honour of Griffith Jones of Llanddowror, who turned the Welsh into one of the world’s most literate nations during the 1700s.